Thursday, March 27, 2014

Elite Eight Fun Facts - Thursday's Winners

Dayton is in their first Elite Eight since 1984.  It is Dayton's third Elite Eight appearance overall.  They defeated Virginia Tech 71-66 in the 1967 Elite Eight in route to a National Championship appearance before losing to UCLA.  They lost to Georgetown 61-49 in the 1984 Elite Eight.  In both of their Elite Eight appearances, they lost to the eventual champion.

This is the 13th time that a team from the Atlantic Ten has advanced to the Elite Eight.  However, the Atlantic Ten teams are only 1-11 in the Elite Eight. Only Massachusetts in 1996 has won an Elite Eight game.  Here are the teams from the A-10 that have been in the Elite Eight:
  • 1978 Villanova (vs. Duke)
  • 1988 Temple (vs. Duke)
  • 1991 Temple (vs. North Carolina)
  • 1993 Temple (vs. Michigan)
  • 1995 Massachusetts (vs. Oklahoma State)
  • 1996 Massachusetts (vs. Georgetown)
  • 1998 Rhode Island (vs. Stanford)
  • 1999 Temple (vs. Duke)
  • 2001 Temple (vs. Michigan State)
  • 2004 Xavier (vs. Duke)
  • 2004 St. Joseph's (vs. Oklahoma State)
  • 2008 Xavier (vs. UCLA)
  • 2014 Dayton (vs. Florida)
Wisconsin is in their first Elite Eight since 2005.  It is Wisconsin's fifth Elite Eight appearance overall. They lost to North Carolina 88-82 in their last Elite Eight appearance and is 2-2 overall.

This is the third straight year that the Big Ten will have at least one team in the Elite Eight.  Ohio State and Michigan were in the Elite Eight last year and Ohio State was in the Elite Eight in 2012.

Florida is in their fourth consecutive Elite Eight.  They become the first team to advance to 4 consecutive Elite Eights since Kentucky went to 5 straight from 1995 to 1999.   It is Florida's eighth appearance overall.  They are 4-3, but have lost their last 3.

Florida's Elite Eight is their seventh since 2000.  That is tied with Kansas and North Carolina for the most since 2000.  (Michigan State could also tie them tomorrow.)

This is the fifth consecutive year that the SEC will have at least one team in the Elite Eight.  Florida has been from 2011 to 2014.  Kentucky also went from 2010 to 2012 and Tennessee went in 2010.

Arizona is in their first Elite Eight since 2011.  It is Arizona's 10th Elite Eight appearance overall.  They lost to Connecticut 65-63 in their last Elite Eight appearance and is 4-5 overall.

This is the Pacific Twelve's first Elite Eight appearance since Arizona's appearance in 2011.  The last team other than Arizona to advance to the Elite Eight was UCLA in 2008.

Arizona and Wisconsin have split their two previous tournament meetings.  Wisconsin defeated Arizona 66-59 in the 2000 Round of 32 and Arizona defeated Wisconsin 94-75 in the 2006 Round of 64.

No comments:

Post a Comment