Monday, April 8, 2019

Championship Game Tidbits

Virginia wins their first National Championship.

Virginia's championship is the 15th for the ACC tying the Pacific Twelve for the most all-time.  It is the ACC's 3rd championship in the last 5 years.

The last Pacific Twelve team to win a National Championship was Arizona in 1997.  Since then the ACC has won 8 National Championships.

Virginia is the first team from the state of Virginia to win a National Championship.

Tony Bennett becomes the 3rd coach to win the championship in his first appearance in the title game since 2014.  Jay Wright (Villanova, 2016) and Kevin Ollie (Connecticut, 2014) won in their first appearance.

With Virginia winning, it is the 3rd straight year that a #1 seed has won a National Championship.

Texas Tech loses to the team that won the championship for the second consecutive tournament.  They lost to Villanova in the Elite Eight last year.  Before last year, the only other time they lost to the eventual champion was 1961 when they lost to Cincinnati in the Sweet Sixteen.

Virginia is the first team to win two overtime games in a single tournament since 2000 (Seton Hall).  They are the first National Champion to win two overtime games in a single tournament since 1997 (Arizona).

No comments:

Post a Comment